Library News: February

By Amy Garoutte, Northern Saguache County Library District.

There is a lot of excitement at our local library. Thanks to a Saguache County Sales Tax Grant, we were able to add a book drop on the porch of The Crestone Eagle, in Crestone. If you are in town and would like to drop your books off at 180 W. Galena, we will pick them up daily, Monday through Friday. 

We will also be bringing library services to the town of Crestone at the Little Shepherd Church on Wednesdays from 1:30-3:30 p.m. beginning Feb. 7. Patrons can stop by to order books and pick up books (contact the Baca Grande Library at 719-256-4100 if you would like to have a book delivered). Laptops will be available during the in-town hours and more services will be provided in the future.

We’re excited to revamp the children’s section of the Baca Grande Library. The children’s section will be closed Friday, Feb. 2 through Feb. 9, for the renovation. Children’s books will be available with librarian assistance.

Friends of the Library — Are you interested in supporting our library as part of a Friends of the Library group? Please contact Amy Garoutte at either branch for more information.

If you’re looking for something interesting to read, our library staff has some recommendations on our website: https://nscld.colibraries.org/nscld-favorites/.  We also added the following exciting reads and DVDs to our collection in January that you might enjoy.

Our new books

The Berry Pickers, by Amanda Peters: A 4-year-old Mi’kmaq girl goes missing from the blueberry fields of Maine, sparking a tragic mystery that haunts the survivors, unravels a community, and remains unsolved for nearly fifty years.

Prophet Song, by Paul Lynch: The story of an Irish town up against a radical right-wing party, Prophet Song is a haunting and harrowingly modern tale that resonates with so much of the present socio-political landscape. Written in gorgeous lyrical prose with tangible stakes that feel all too real, this is a read that appeals across audiences, a real masterclass of storytelling.

Bladestay, by Jackie Johnson: When a violent, decades-long feud between two powerful men comes to a head in the small settlement of Bladestay, Colorado, cunning resident Theo Creed must use her wits to stay alive.

The Square of Sevens, by Laura Shepherd-Robinson: An orphaned fortune teller in 18th-century England searches for answers about her long-dead mother and uncovers shocking secrets in this immersive and atmospheric saga perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Sarah Perry.

Eve: How the Female Body Drove 200 Million Years of Human Evolution, by Cat Bohannon: The ongoing question of who gets to tell their story is given a fresh and welcome perspective with Cat Bohannon’s incredible ability to rewrite the entire evolution of humanity from the female side. This is a brilliant work of scientific writing that reshapes the entire conversation of genetics, and it is written so well that you won’t even realize how much you’re learning.

The Frozen River, by Ariel Lawhon: Historical fiction and mystery fans will enjoy this novel based on the true story and diaries of Martha Ballard, an 18th-century midwife in rural Maine — and a woman devoted to healing and justice. 

Unfinished: My View from the Ninth Decade, by Ammi Kohn: The library district is dedicated to featuring the work of local authors in our book collection and celebrating the richness of our community’s creative voices. In this independently published memoir, Ammi (a former longtime Crestone/Baca resident) looks back over nine decades on a life filled with unexpected adventure, including “finding his place in a small, strange town in Colorado.” Where could that be?

The Bigger Picture: How Psychedelics Can Help Us Make Sense of the World, by Alexander Beiner: Colorado voters legalized psychedelic mushrooms last November. As clinicians explore what these molecules can do for our individual minds, this book explores the role of psychedelic drugs in helping us tackle the biggest problems we face globally. Can they heal the cultural, spiritual, and political wounds we’re wrestling with? Can they help us find new ways to make sense of and come through the crises we face around the world?

Our Incredible Library Book, by Caroline Crowe: The story of one incredible library book and all the children who’ve borrowed it. Fun, rhyming text from Crowe and bright, joyful illustrations from New York Times-bestseller John Joseph celebrate a love of books and libraries. 

The Eyes & The Impossible, by Dave Eggers: Johannes, a free dog, lives in an urban park by the sea. His job is to be the Eye; to see everything that happens within the park and report back to the park’s elders, three ancient bison. His friends, a seagull, a raccoon, a squirrel, and a pelican, work with him as the Assistant Eyes, observing the humans and other animals who share the park and making sure the Equilibrium is in balance. A story about friendship, beauty, liberation, and running very, very fast, The Eyes & the Impossible will make readers of all ages see the world around them in a new way.

Our new DVDs

The Creator: Amidst a future war between the human race and the forces of artificial intelligence, Joshua (John David Washington), a hardened ex-special forces agent grieving the disappearance of his wife (Gemma Chan), is recruited to hunt down and kill the Creator, the elusive architect of advanced AI who has developed a mysterious weapon with the power to end the war…and mankind itself. 

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio, Guillermo del Toro reinvents Carlo Collodi’s classic tale of the wooden marionette who is magically brought to life to mend the heart of a grieving woodcarver named Geppetto. 

Mrs. Sidhu Investigates, Mrs. Sidhu is a caterer with a taste for solving mysteries. Her sleuthing turns into an unofficial partnership with dour DCI Burton, who reluctantly accepts that together they make the perfect pairing to fight crime.

The Blind, Long before Phil Robertson was a reality TV star, he fell in love and started a family, but his demons threatened to tear their lives apart. This is the true story that started a dynasty.

Bank of Dave tells the story of how a working class Burnley man and self-made millionaire fought to set up a community bank. Based on the true-life experiences of Dave Fishwick.

Recurring programs at the libraries

Preschool-age Storytime (ages preK – 3rd grade) Tuesdays at the Saguache Public Library at 10 a.m. 

Tech Help every Friday from 10 a.m.-noon at the Baca Grande Library and every Tuesday from 1:30-4 p.m. at the Saguache Public Library

Tax Help in February every Thursday from 10 a.m.-noon at the Baca Grande Library by appointment, and every Tuesday from 1:30-2:30 p.m. at the Saguache Public Library by appointment.

Crestone In-town hours: Wednesday from 1:30-3:30 p.m. at the Little Shepherd Church.

Wellness Wednesdays Educational classes by Lisa Anne Emery on the third Wednesday of the month from noon-1 p.m. at the Saguache Public Library. The first educational class is Finding Strength in the Winter Blues on Feb. 21.

Free Food Friday every Friday from 10 a.m.-noon at the Baca Grande Library and 10 a.m.-5 p.m.at the Saguache Public Library. 

Special events

First Friday Art Reception featuring Leighton Burt Art, from 3:30- 5 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 2, at the Baca Grande Library. 

Free Introduction to Grant Writing presented by John JJ Jenkins at 5:15 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 7, and 5:15 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 8, at the Baca Grande Library

Time Traveler’s Soul Reading 11 a.m.-12:45 p.m. Saturdays in February. Make an appointment: call the Baca Grande Library: 719-256-4100.

Overdue Books? Do you have an overdue library book causing you grief every time you look at it? Feel free to bring it back anytime without worrying about fines. Our libraries do not charge late fees for overdue books.

For questions concerning programming call the Baca Grande Library at 719-256-4100.

Library hours and closures

Baca Grande Library hours are Monday to Friday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. 

Saguache Public Library hours are Monday to Friday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., and Saturday, 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Please note that the libraries will be closed Monday, Feb. 19, for President’s Day. 

The Baca Grande Children’s section will be closed from Friday, Feb. 2 through Friday, Feb. 9 for renovation.

Exit mobile version